a boots-on-the-ground view of the change that's a-foot

Archive for January, 2014

Ashtanga – The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Tuesday, January 28th, 2014

Ashtanga Yoga is the Eight Limbs of Yoga, a 5,000 year old practice – one of the few yoga methods that has maintained its roots in the West. It’s progressive and productive. It’s physically vigorous. It’s mentally challenging.  Spiritually speaking, it will wake you up.


Ashtanga is one of the original styles of yoga from India. It was brought to the West by Sri K. Pattabi Jois and his first Western students like David Swenson, David Williams, Nancy Gilgoff and others who traveled to India in the 1960’s.


Ashtanga means “Eight Limbs” and is based on an evolving process of practices to heal, cleanse, and align the body, mind and spirit. Learning Ashtanga begins with the 3rd limb of Asana, or posture. Asana is a vehicle to access a deeper internal awareness and personal insight and leads you to the development of the other limbs.


A meditative quality in practice comes from coordinating breath, movement and gaze in postures and vinyasa (flow). There are 6 series of sequences, all beginning with Surya Namaskar (sun salutations) and standing postures. Each posture, and each sequence is designed to prepare you for the next, align, strengthen and lengthen the physical boy and nourish the nervous system.

THE TAO OF CHANGE [the way of a better world]

brought to you by The Change, a strategy and design agency with an agenda to change the world